Home

Progress is my best hope as I think about the future. I’ve been thinking (and that can be a bit scary at times) about the impact that we have as advocates in the research arena. The progress that has been made through the years by so many is reaping some benefits for the patient community. An ‘overnight success” some would say. My response would be that it has taken many overnights of working in the trenches to have the patient voice listened to in the process that has made it a success. I’m a realist enough to know that we are nowhere close to where we need to be to be considered a true success. I’ll know that real progress has been made in this fight against Parkinson’s Disease when my baby grands ask me this question, “Pop Pop, do you remember when you HAD Parkinson’s Disease?” In the meantime, let us all continue the work needed to make this a reality.

In the same vein, we all know that disease progression continues to take from us a bit at a time. The race for progress in the battle against Parkinson’s Disease sometimes takes a back seat to the every day needs of those whose disease progression is faster than expected. I, for one, am tired of seeing my friends from one year to the next and seeing them change, and not for the better. I want my friends back who could walk without a shuffle, without toppling over as if being pushed around, without speaking so softly that it takes all you have to decipher what they have to say, and without the unwanted side effects after years of continuous medication use.

In my heart of hearts I truly believe that we will get rid of this disease in the near future. Many talented and incredibly brilliant minds are at work in all corners of the globe to make this happen. We, the patient community need to continue doing our part (and even step up a bit more) to hasten the day when we get our personal invitation to the final dance in honor of finding the elusive cure.

My last dollar is on progress that will move much faster toward a cure than the dreaded progression that we are all too familiar with at this time.

In the meantime, please continue to keep us in your prayers.

Leave a Reply

